Reviews

Lessons in Saving a Girl is a refreshingly honest glimpse into the life of a family trying to find a semblance

of normalcy in the midst of their frenzied existence. Free of pretense, this book exposes the stains caused

by mental illness as it tarnishes the lives of those in its wake. Graham is a gifted writer whose style is as

fluid as it is direct. Her book offers a glimmer of optimism wrapped up neatly within this affecting story

which is sure to resonate with readers of all ages.
 - LITERARY CLASSICS BOOK AWARDS & REVIEWS  

 
I received this book as a first read. It's beautifully written and the lyrical prose is entrancing with flairs

of Hemingway, Flaubert, and Garcia Marquez. It's a compelling coming of age tale that provides a stark

yet delicate portrayal of growing up with a mentally ill parent. It's also a classic story of feeling like an

outsider and being the new kid at school. Adults and teens alike will recognize the awkward high school

 moments and feelings. The pace is fast and the characters are well developed. Fans of The Bell Jar, The

Impossible Knife of Memory, or The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian will enjoy this book.

~ Gina, Goodreads

 

I wanted to congratulate you on a huge accomplishment. What a great story! I'm most impressed by your detailed and vivid descriptions. Your story took me through Emily's emotional journey. I was repeatedly in awe over what you can achieve in just a few simple sentences. The writing is just amazing, and the vision I have in my head about your story will stay with me all day.
~ Ari Lukas, author Lost Inside Her 




LeighLa's story took me back to feelings I often try to forget but are always only a thought or two away; the vacillating feel-ings of joy and fear you experience when someone you love has a mental illness or is physically or emotionally abusive. In my case, it was both. LeighLa's story will captivate you from the start and pull you into her world with her visual imagery and excellent writing style. I finished the story with a feeling of gratefulness for the capacity to love and forgive which gave me the freedom I needed to move on with my life. Unlike other authors that have tackled the sensitive topic of a loved one's mental illness, I felt encouraged and hopeful instead of feeling like I was alone. This is a testament to LeighLa's writing and her compassionate view of life through the eyes of someone who has lived with this devastating illness. I can't wait to read more of her writing!
~ Shelli

Copyright 2013. LeighLa Graham. All rights reserved.

Follow us

In the new novel by debut author LeighLa Graham, Lessons in Saving a Girl, readers will be taken on a heartbreaking, heartfelt journey that explores the difficulties of being a teenager dealing with a tough past.
The author has done a great job in creating characters that her readers will connect with, relate to, care about and continue to think of long after the book is finished. If that isn't the hallmark of a great author, I don't know what is. I highly recommend Lessons in Saving a Girl and can't wait to see what the very promising new author, LeighLa Graham, has in store for her readers next!
~ Tracy A. Fischer, Readers' Favorite